When you come to a fork in the road… pick it up!


Some posts, like this one, are only for the people who know our family really well (I’ll get back to regular blogging in 2012).  At the same time, it is one of the most important posts in the Ramblingrhino’s blog in 2011.  Life for the Hanselmans in 2012 is taking a new direction.  We are moving out of local church ministry and back into “parachurch” work.

First, I want to say that the past year and a half has ben really good for me for a number of reasons:

  • We finished another year in Idaho (an awesome place to live and raise a family)… we will miss it dearly.
  • Mary earned the recognition she needed to continue working as a sign language interpreter (where she is really good at what she does!).
  • I got to teach every Sunday to a very patient group of people (we witnessed 12 baptisms at the end of the year!).
  • Our family made some of the best connections and relationships we have ever known.

Now, we are following another opportunity to serve, learn, and grow.  I was offered a position to help raise money for QuietWaters Ministries.  QWM’s mission is: To renew, restore and strengthen Christian leaders and their families (check out the web site at http://www.qwaters.org).  We are looking forward to begin a new chapter to minister to and build friendships with a new network of people God brings into our path.

If you have any questions (or want to know more about what we will be doing) please email me at jshanselman@gmail.com.

10 thoughts on “When you come to a fork in the road… pick it up!

  1. What do you say when a best friend leaves to do what God is leading him to do?
    May the good Lord bless everything that enters the hearts and minds of the Hanselmans!
    We know Romans 8:28 to be true and we’ll catch up on the details in heaven.

  2. I felt God answered prayers when your family moved to Idaho. I felt ‘at home’ again in a church. I know you are doing what you are called and excitied to hear more! I will stop in when I get back to Colorado. Will miss you all!

  3. We are going to miss all of you very much, everyone in your family has touched our lives in a way that will be remembered for years to come.

    @Jason, I don’t know much but for one thing, I am darn sure…God put me on a crash course to you, your ministry and your unwavering faith in him. I was truly lost in the race before you helped me see what has been missing for most of my life…I will miss you more than you know. Thank you from a man that doesnt usually know when to say it. Stay the course, he WILL light the way home. God speed Hanselmans. Ps. GO BRONCOS (I believe)!!!!:)

    • Adam,

      I am grateful for your friendship… I am looking forward to what God will do in your life. Your choice to serve our country inspires me… thanks for all you do. Your family will be missed my friend.

      PS: We’ll get together someday and watch a Broncos game live and in living color too!

Leave a comment